1950's till Today - Wynndean - Ocean Grove
Forming the Esplanade
Towards the end of the 1950's the rate of emigration slowed and Wynndean reverted back to the Holiday Resort role and saw the expansion of sites and cabins to 400 during the early 1960's.
The residence on the beach frontage was built during 1962.
The additional 330 sites developed during the 60's included 85 cabins built with permits and many with brick en-suite facilities connected to septic tanks. Most of the "caravans" were either bond-wood or rooms on wheels, and had solid annexes attached and roofed over. The two roomed cabins remained in use until 1995 when they were demolished and removed to enable the sale of the blocks they occupied adjacent the Surf Beach complex.
Beach Parking in Wynndean
In 1968 sons John and Roger returned to work in the business and Wynndean Holiday Resorts Pty. Ltd. was established. Wynndean became the first sewered property in Ocean Grove and during the next 10 years all the facilities and amenities were completely rebuilt and all the sites connected to the sewer mains.
Some 200 old caravans were replaced with modern aluminum vans, and the built annexes replaced with prefabricated aluminum annexes. Approx. 5000 metres of fencing was built and power, water and telephone cable reticulated throughout the park area. Son Greg returned to the business in 1972.
150 permanent units built during the 50’s
The original 65 bungalows were demolished and replaced with sites during the late 70's and early 80's.
Currently the Park has some 250 sites with most of the sites occupied by holiday caravans which remain on site throughout the year with the owners using them throughout the year.
Wynndean is a rather unique Caravan Park with the sites located randomly amongst the native trees - Jacks direction to early campers was that if they could fit their van in without disturbing the trees then it was a site!